top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaia Mare Urban Sports

Murcian world of sports

Updated: May 31, 2020


Being eager to find out and understand more about the regional athletes, I started to research about past and present famous athletes of Murcia region. I came upon quite a lot of information so I decided to see more about those with great national and international results.


The list is yet open and with no intention to leave anyone out, I have chosen 27 athletes, with both known and perhaps not so known results.



If you’re asking yourself what the material is about, I’ll help you out with a sneak peak: you’ll find a short compendium with their names, birth date and sport, some information about their sport career and great results.


I’d conclude my research by asking you if you knew that…

  • the majority of the athletes are for variations of cycling, aspect which is not so surprising given the landscape of the region

  • coincidently or not, many of cyclists of the region have passed away in traffic accidents, some at very early ages

  • the most articles were about footballers (75)

  • the individual sports seem to have more greater results than the team ones

  • the earliest data is from a player born in 1917 (basketball), while the youngest is from 2003 (tennis)

For a travel in the sport world of Murcia I’m inviting you to discover the rest by yourself, by checking the brochure here.



414 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page