top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaia Mare Urban Sports

My life as an international volunteer in Baia Mare

Before arriving in Baia Mare many people advised me not to set high expectations in general for what I am going to do or have here; in fact, what I am witnessing in Baia Mare is awesome!


Starting from being a foreigner in the city, meeting other international volunteers and dealing with locals during the activities enrich my experience and make me explore more about the culture, people, costumes and more and more about myself. For sure I needed time to get to know the surrounding community and to have a common language to communicate.


People here are really warm and being in a small city helped in getting closer to the community and feeling related to it as I live in a small city in Egypt as well. Beside the activities and tasks for the project I have my free time to work on myself in many ways, I work on my writing skills by having an internship in journalism writing, attending dance classes. And the most beautiful achievement to me is that I learnt how to jump the rope; it might seem trivial but to me is a real big thing. Not to forget the hikes I go on alone or with other volunteers which is the cherry on top for the city.



Recently I started facilitating online dialogue for international university students. I try to invest more in my self growth to make the most of my stay here. I’m trying to visit as many cities and not to miss the countryside all over Romania.


All that I’m achieving is almost started by the project, as the activities that we have recharge our energy, helping us to achieve more and giving us the space to create not just to follow the rules!


- Donia

126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page